Join Mailing List   |   Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join
ISTH Council Committees and Rosters

ISTH’s Bylaws authorize the Council to establish committees that it deems necessary to conduct the business of the society. These committees recommend to the Council policies, programs and actions related to their areas of expertise and responsibility. They also implement recommendations for approved by the Council.


Committees include:




Education and Outreach

Ensures the greatest possible impact of the Society’s educational programs on the thrombosis and haemostasis community

Chairman: Claire McLintock
Vice Chairman: Flora Peyvandi 
Pantep Angchaisuksiri
Omolade Awodu
Alicia Blanco
Geoffrey Barnes
Suzanne Cannegieter
Meera Chitlur
Satoshi Fujii
Andreas Greinacher
Ingrid Hrachovinova
Jayandharan Giridhara Rao
Suely Rezende
Frits Rosendaal
Chris Ward
Stephen Watson


Ensures that the Society adheres to the highest standards of professional and personal conduct, creating a climate of trust, transparency, respect and integrity among all constituents.


Chairman: Paula Tracy
Vice Chairman: James Morrissey
Dermot Cox
Alan R. Giles
Vera Ignjatovic
Randal Westrick


Manages, on behalf of the Council, the daily activities of the Society in between Council meetings, within the framework of the policies and procedures set by the Council


Chairman of Council: Ingrid Pabinger
Secretary/Chairman-Elect and Chair of Education Committee: Claire McLintock
Treasurer: Bjorn Dahlback
Secretary General: J. Evan Sadler
Immediate Past Chairman of Council/Special Advisor: Nigel Key
SSC Chairman: Walter Ageno
Chair of the Publications Committee: Jeffrey Weitz
2015 Congress President: Sam Schulman
2017 Congress President: Johannes Oldenburg


Ensures prudent use of the Society’s resources and protects the financial health of the organization


Chairman: Bjorn Dahlback
Vice-Chairman: Sam Schulman
Kenneth A. Bauer
Jose Lopez
Flora Peyvandi


Ensures that the Society complies with its Bylaws, mission and governing documents

Chairman: Paula Tracy
Vice-Chairman: Anna Falanga
Bjorn Dahlback
Morty Poncz
Saskia Middeldorp
Ex-officio: Ingrid Pabinger
Ex-officio: Evan Sadler

Guidelines and Guidance
Develops, oversees and coordinates the transparent process for the development and/or approval of guidelines and guidance documents the Society wishes to produce or endorse.

Chairman: Jeffrey Weitz 
Vice-Chairman: Mike Makris
James Douketis
Andreas Greinacher
Marcel Levi
David Lillicrap
Paul Monagle
Flora Peyvandi
Sam Schulman
Alberto Tosetto

Lectures and Awards

Oversees named lectureships, awards and other recognitions that don’t require an open competitive application process

Chairman: Marco Cattaneo
Vice Chairman
: James Morrissey
Peter Lenting
Jose Lopez
Diego Mezzano
Heyu Ni
Ex-officio: Sam Schulman

Membership and Communications

Promotes the Society’s membership, communication, programs, builds its brand and helps increase its visibility and impact

Chairman: Claire McLintock
Vice-Chairman:Marco Cattaneo
Pantep Angchaisuksuri
Jeffrey Berger
Thein Oo
Ingrid Pabinger
Aurora de la Pena
Suely Rezende
Oksana Volod
Cheng Hock Toh


Oversees the nomination and election process

Chairman: Peter Lenting
Vice-Chairman: Anna Falanga
Bjorn Dahlback
Paul Kim
Alok Srivastava
Steve Watson

Nurses   Develops and shares information, evidence-based practices, research and guidelines for hemostasis and thrombosis practices in nursing.  Chairman: Maura Malone
Vice-Chairman: Bunis Packham
Jennifer Maahs
Fiona Newell
Jim Munn
Regina Butler
Ann O'Sullivan


Supports future ISTH Congress and SSC Annual Meeting presidents and local organizing committees

Chairman: Sam Schulman
Vice Chairman: Johannes Oldenburg
Yasuo Ikeda
Robert Medcalf
Bob Montgomery
Frits Rosendaal
Jean-Francois F Schved
Cheng Hock Toh


Supports the editors and oversees the Society’s journal and other publications from a strategic, commercial and management aspect.

Chairman: Jeff Weitz
Vice-Chairman: David Lillicrap
Mike Makris
James Morrissey
Lucy Norris
Elizabeth Van Cott
Ex-Officio: Bjorn Dahlback
Ex-Officio: Frits Rosendaal
Ex-Officio: Pieter Reitsma

Early Career Task Force
Makes recommendations to the Society on meeting the needs of Young Professionals in the organization. Chairman: Mandy Lauw
Geoffrey Barnes
Marc Blondon
Caterina Casari
Matthew Harper
Ketan Kulkarni
Pedro Henrique F. do Carmo Las Casas
Joshua Muia
Nicoletta Riva
Gevorg Tamamyan
Jun Wu
Boulaftalli Yacine


Membership Management Software Powered by®  ::  Legal