Join Mailing List   |   Jobs   |   Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join
New SSC Chairman-Elect (2014-2016) Elected at SSC 2014
Share |

ISTH is pleased to announce that its SSC Subcommittee Chairmen elected Professor Walter Ageno of the Universita dell' Insubria-Ospedale di Circolo of Varese, Italy as the Chairman-Elect of the Scientific and Standardization Committee (SSC) of ISTH for 2014-2016. Professor Ageno will work alongside SSC Chairman Professor Sabine Eichinger (Vienna, Austria) until he will begin his term as SSC Chairman at the ISTH SSC 2016 Annual Meeting in Montpellier.

Dr. Ageno is currently an associate professor of internal medicine and staff physician in the Department of Internal Medicine and in the Thrombosis and Haemostasis Unit of the University Hospital of Varese. He is also the current chairman of the SSC subcommittee on the Control of Anticoagulation, where he previously served as a co-chair. Dr. Ageno’s research interests include venous and arterial thromboembolism and the development of antithrombotic drugs. Dr Ageno is Chapter Editor of the chapter "Oral anticoagulant therapy" for the 9th edition of the American College of Chest Physicians guidelines on Antithrombotic Therapies; deputy editor for Thrombosis and Haemostasis, and member of the Advisory Board of the Journal of Thrombosis and Haemostasis and of the Editorial Boards of Thrombosis Research, Internal and Emergency Medicine and Haematologica.

He has identified three primary objectives for his time on the SSC Executive Committee: to promote collaboration among the SSC subcommittees and other international thrombosis and hemostasis organizations; expand the geographic reach of the SSC; and increase the publication of SSC guidance documents, statements and reports of SSC activities.

Membership Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal