Join Mailing List   |   Jobs   |   Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join
The ISTH Announces New Chairman of Council
Share |

Dr. Nigel Key has been confirmed as the ISTH Chairman of Council following the Society’s annual council meeting held on June 22, 2014, prior to the start of its Scientific and Standardization Committee’s 60th Annual Meeting in Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA. Dr. Key, from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill (UNC) School of Medicine, Chapel Hill, N.C., USA, follows Dr. Michael Berndt of Curtin University, Perth, Australia, who served his full term as Chairman of Council, 2012 – 2014. 

Dr. Key is an adult hematologist specializing in non-malignant hematologic disorders, particularly those affecting blood coagulation. Working in the field for more than 25 years, Dr. Key is a Harold R. Roberts Distinguished Professor, Chief of the Section of Hematology in the Division of Hematology/Oncology, and Director of the UNC Hemophilia and Thrombosis Center. He has also authored well over 100 peer-reviewed articles, approximately 20 book chapters and is co-editor of a popular textbook on disorders of bleeding and clotting.

The ISTH Council is the governing body of the ISTH. Under the direction of the Chairman, it authorizes and exercises all corporate powers of the Society and oversees all of its programs, including: Education and Outreach, Publications, Meetings, Membership, World Thrombosis Day and numerous other activities. All regular members of the ISTH, regardless of where they live, can be nominated and elected to the Council and serve six-year terms. The chairmanship is a two-year term and is an elected position.

Membership Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal