Join Mailing List   |   Jobs   |   Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join
ISTH Council
Share |

The Council is the governing body of the ISTH. It authorizes and exercises all corporate powers of the Society and oversees all activities.

The Executive Committee is a subset of the ISTH Council. It provides executive direction to the activities of the Society in between Council meetings.

The Society’s Bylaws empower the Council to establish committees that recommend to the Council policies, programs and actions related to their areas of expertise and responsibility. The committees also implement recommendations that the Council approves. Council committees comprise Council members as well as non-Council ISTH members.

All regular members of the ISTH, regardless of where they live, can be nominated and elected to the Council. Council members serve six-year terms and may serve up to two non-consecutive terms, with at least two years elapsing in between terms.

Every two years, members of the Society elect five of their peers to the Council, replacing one-third of elected Council members. Council members serve for a term of six years. Find a list of past Council members here.

The Council also has ex-officio voting members who are members by virtue of holding another office with the ISTH, as mandated by the Society’s Bylaws.



Name Country Position Term
Ingrid Pabinger
Austria Chairman 2016-2018
Björn Dahlbäck Sweden Treasurer 2015-2018
Claire McLintock New Zealand Secretary/Chairman-Elect 2016-2018

Council Classes:
2018 2020 2022
Peter Lenting 
Anna Falanga
Pantep Angchaisuksiri
Claire McLintock
(New Zealand)
David Lillicrap
Michael Makris
James Morrissey 
Jose Lopez
Flora Peyvandi
Ingrid Pabinger 
Suely Rezende
Sam Schulman
Jeffrey Weitz
Steve Watson
Alisa Wolberg

Name Country Position
J. Evan Sadler USA Secretary General
Johannes Oldenburg Germany Past President
XXVI ISTH Congress Berlin, 2017
Christopher Ward Australia Vice-President
XXVII ISTH Congress Melbourne, 2019
Robert Medcalf Australia President
XXVII ISTH Congress Melbourne, 2019
Nigel Key USA Immediate Past Chair
ISTH Council
Pieter Reitsma the Netherlands Editor-in-Chief
Journal of Thrombosis and Haemostasis
Frits Rosendaal the Netherlands Editor-in-Chief
Journal of Thrombosis and Haemostasis
Walter Ageno Italy Chairman
Scientific and Standardization Committee

Membership Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal