This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.
Join Mailing List   |   Jobs   |   Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join
News & Press: ISTH News

Introducing the New ISTH SSC Subcommittee Chairs

Thursday, September 20, 2018   (0 Comments)
Share |

The ISTH is pleased to announced the following new SSC subcommittee chairs:

New chairs are recommended by the current chair of the subcommittee and then sent to the SSC Executive Committee for approval. 

Please welcome the new ISTH SSC subcommittee chairs:

 Kathleen Freson, Ph.D.
Kathleen Freson is the new Genomic in Thrombosis and Hemostasis SSC Subcommittee Chair. She is a Professor at the University of Leuven in the department of Cardiovascular Sciences and head of the Centre for Molecular and Vascular Biology. She has a background in bioscience engineering and her research focussed on genetic and biology studies using platelets to unravel new bleeding disorders. She studies also other mainly neurological diseases where the platelet is used as a model cell for the disease to gain insights in the pathological mechanism.

Jerrold Levy, M.D.
United States
Jerrold Levy is the new Perioperative and Critical Care Thrombosis and Hemostasis SSC Subcommittee Chair. He is currently Professor of Anesthesiology and Surgery (Cardiothoracic), and CoDirector of the Cardiothoracic Surgical Intensive Care Unit at Duke University Medical Center. His clinical and research interests include therapeutic strategies to prevent and treat bleeding, anticoagulation and its reversal, clinical applications of recombinant and purified protein concentrates, pharmacologic strategies to treat shock/ventricular dysfunction, and anaphylaxis. His clinical practice involves managing critically ill patients in the perioperative setting and intensive care unit.
Marie Lordkipanidzé, Ph.D.
Marie Lordkipanidzé is the new Platelet Physiology SSC Subcommittee Chair. She is a pharmacist and an Assistant Professor at the Faculty of Pharmacy, Université de Montréal. She is also a Principal Investigator at the Montreal Heart Institute. Her research group specializes in platelet physiology, platelet function testing and personalized antiplatelet approaches. She leads a translational program of research into the interplay between platelet-stored neurotrophic factors and cardiovascular health and disease.
Johnny Mahlangu, M.D.
South Africa
Johnny Mahlangu is the new Factor VIII, Factor IX and Rare Coagulation Disorders SSC Subcommittee Chair. He is a Personal Professor of Haematology and Head of School of Pathology in the Faculty of Health Sciences of the University of the Witwatersrand and the National Health Laboratory Service in Johannesburg, South Africa. He is also Director of the International Haemophilia Training Centre and Consultant Clinical Haematologist at the Charlotte Maxeke Johannesburg Academic Hospital, Johannesburg. His main area of research is novel therapies in bleeding disorders in which he has served as Principal Investigator for a large number of international multiple centre studies.
Johannes Thaler, M.D., Ph.D.

Johannes Thaler is the new Vascular Biology SSC Subcommittee Chair. He is an M.D/Ph.D. who received his medical and scientific training at the Medical University of Vienna. Thaler’s main clinical and translational research focus lies on the investigation of tissue factor exposing extracellular vesicles in different prothrombotic conditions.


Membership Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal