This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.
Join Mailing List   |   Jobs   |   Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join
News & Press: Press Releases

ISTH Welcomes Jeffrey Weitz as New President of the Society

Wednesday, July 22, 2020   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Andy Masten
Share |

New Council Appointments and Members Following July Council Meeting

CHAPEL HILL, NC, USA (July 22, 2020)
– The International Society on Thrombosis and Haemostasis (ISTH) today announced that Jeffrey Weitz, M.D. (Canada) has stepped into his new role as president of the ISTH after the July 15 Council meeting of the Society, which followed the ISTH 2020 Virtual Congress. Weitz succeeds Claire McLintock, M.D. (New Zealand) who served as president since 2018.

Weitz is professor of Medicine and Biochemistry and Biomedical Sciences at McMaster University in Ontario, Canada. His career spans over 30 years, and covers a breadth of research, from the biochemistry of blood coagulation and fibrinolysis to animal models of thrombosis and hemostasis to clinical trials and health outcomes research. Weitz will serve two years as president before moving to the role of immediate past president of the ISTH in 2022. He will be followed by Flora Peyvandi, M.D. (Italy).

“It is a great honor to serve as president of an organization that I’ve been part of throughout my entire career,” Weitz said. “It is a responsibility that I take very seriously and I look forward to building upon the solid foundation established by Dr. McLintock and others to advance the ISTH, grow its reputation and continue to expand our reach to new voices as we become more diverse and globally representative.”

Other ISTH Council changes included Sam Schulman, M.D. (Canada) elected as treasurer and Nigel Key, M.D. (United States) elected as secretary general. See the full list of new Council members below:

  • Robert Ariëns, Ph.D. (United Kingdom)
  • Omolade Awodu, M.B.Ch.B., F.M.C.Path (Nigeria)
  • Donna DiMichele, M.D. (United States)
  • Saskia Middeldorp, M.D., Ph.D. (the Netherlands)
  • Christopher Ward, M.B.Ch.B., Ph.D. (Australia) 

“I look forward to all that the ISTH will accomplish in the next few years,” said Weitz. “It is with great appreciation and admiration for Dr. McLintock that I assume this role and I look forward to working with ISTH headquarters to strengthen our impact in the field of thrombosis and hemostasis in 2020 and beyond.”

For more information about the ISTH, visit

About the ISTH

Founded in 1969, the ISTH is the leading worldwide not-for-profit organization dedicated to advancing the understanding, prevention, diagnosis and treatment of conditions related to thrombosis and hemostasis (clotting and bleeding). ISTH is an international professional membership organization with more than 5,000 clinicians, researchers and educators working together to improve the lives of patients in more than 100 countries around the world. Among its highly regarded activities and initiatives are education and standardization programs, clinical guidance and practice guidelines, research activities, meetings and congresses, peer-reviewed publications, expert committees and World Thrombosis Day on October 13. Visit ISTH online at




Membership Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal