This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.
Join Mailing List   |   Jobs   |   Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join
ISTH Council Committees and Rosters

ISTH’s Bylaws authorize the Council to establish committees that it deems necessary to conduct the business of the society. These committees recommend to the Council policies, programs and actions related to their areas of expertise and responsibility. They also implement recommendations for approved by the Council.


Committees include:




Education and Outreach

Ensures the greatest possible impact of the Society’s educational programs on the thrombosis and haemostasis community

Chair: Flora Peyvandi
Vice-Chair: Pantep Angchaisuksiri
Mary Carmen Amigo
Geoffrey Barnes
Meera Chitlur
Satoshi Fujii
Ingrid Hrachovinova
Ketan Kulkarni
Ton Lisman
Claire McLintock
Simon Onsongo
Jayandharan Giridhara Rao
Suely Rezende
Midori Shima
Chris Ward


Ensures that the Society adheres to the highest standards of professional and personal conduct, creating a climate of trust, transparency, respect and integrity among all constituents.

Chair: José López
Vice-Chair:  Mary-Carmen Amigo
Ecaterina Scarlatescu
Masanori Matsumoto
Edeghonghon Olayemi
Ze Zheng


Manages, on behalf of the Council, the daily activities of the Society in between Council meetings, within the framework of the policies and procedures set by the Council


President of the SocietyClaire McLintock
President-Elect of the Society:            Jeffrey Weitz
Treasurer: Björn Dahlbäck
Secretary General:  Nigel Key
Immediate Past President of the Society: Ingrid Pabinger
SSC Chairman:  Nicola Mutch
Chair of the Publications Committee: Michael Makris
Chair of the Education Committee:    Flora Peyvandi


Ensures prudent use of the Society’s resources and protects the financial health of the organization

Chair: Björn Dahlbäck
Vice-Chair: Sam Schulman
James Douketis
Wolfram Ruf
Anthony Washington


Ensures that the Society complies with its Bylaws, mission and governing documents

Chair: Anna Falanga
Vice-Chair: Alisa Wolberg
Jennifer Curnow
Paul Daniels
Alan Giles
Saskia Middeldorp
Ex-officio: Jeffrey Weitz
Ex-officio: Nigel Key

Guidelines and Guidance
Develops, oversees and coordinates the transparent process for the development and/or approval of guidelines and guidance documents the Society wishes to produce or endorse.

Chair: Mike Makris
Vice-Chair: Sam Schulman
Walter Ageno
Patricia Casais
Marcel Levi
Paul Monagle
Flora Peyvandi
Cynthia Rothschild
Ravindra Sarode
Kazuma Yamakawa

Lectures and Awards

Oversees named lectureships, awards and other recognitions that don’t require an open competitive application process

Chair: Steve Watson
José López
Jorge Di Paola
Dominique Farge
Helena Liang
Gilbert C White
Ex-officio: Robert Medcalf

Membership and Communications

Promotes the Society’s membership, communication, programs, builds its brand and helps increase its visibility and impact

Chair: Suely Rezende
Vice-Chair: Alisa Wolberg
Pantep Angchaisuksiri
Vasileios Chatziantoniou
Cecile Denis
Patrick Fogarty
Elizabeth Gardiner
Mandy Lauw
Helen Okoye
Midori Shima
Oksana Volod


Oversees the nomination and election process

Chair: Nigel Key
Vice-Chair: Anna Falanga
Cristina Belizna
Francoise Dignat-George
Jorge Di Paola
Augusto Federici
Paul Kim
Jeffrey Zwicker

Nurses   Develops and shares information, evidence-based practices, research and guidelines for hemostasis and thrombosis practices in nursing.  Chair: Bunis Packham
Vice-Chair: James Munn
Sulochana Badagabettu
Regina Butler
Jose Miguel Rivera Caravaca
Anne-Louise Cruickshank
Maura Malone


Supports the editors and oversees the Society’s journal and other publications from a strategic, commercial and management aspect.

Chair: Mike Makris
Vice-Chair: Wolfram Ruf
Caterina Casari
Cecile Denis
Jaehyung Cho
Lucy Norris
Ex-Officio: Mary Cushman 
Ex-Officio: Bjorn Dahlback
Ex-Officio: David Lillicrap
Ex-Officio: James Morrissey

Early Career Committee
Makes recommendations to the Society on meeting the needs of early career professionals in the organization.

Chair: Marc Blondon
Vice-ChairCaterina Casari
ECC Advisor: Ingrid Pabinger
Yacine Boulaftali
Robert Campbell
Thita Chiasakul
Renee Eslick
Ketan Kulkarni
Pedro Henrique F. do Carmo Las Casas
Mandy Lauw
Joshua Muia
Nicoletta Riva
Leslie Skeith


Membership Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal