Join Mailing List   |   Jobs   |   Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join
ISTH Council
Share |

The Council is the governing body of the ISTH. It authorizes and exercises all corporate powers of the Society and oversees all activities.

The Executive Committee is a subset of the ISTH Council. It provides executive direction to the activities of the Society in between Council meetings.

The Society’s Bylaws empower the Council to establish committees that recommend to the Council policies, programs and actions related to their areas of expertise and responsibility. The committees also implement recommendations that the Council approves. Council committees comprise Council members as well as non-Council ISTH members.

All regular members of the ISTH, regardless of where they live, can be nominated and elected to the Council. Council members serve six-year terms and may serve up to two non-consecutive terms, with at least two years elapsing in between terms.

Every two years, members of the Society elect five of their peers to the Council, replacing one-third of elected Council members. Council members serve for a term of six years. Find a list of past Council members here.

The Council also has ex-officio voting and non-voting members who are members by virtue of holding another office with the ISTH, as mandated by the Society’s Bylaws.



Name Country Position Term
Claire McLintock New Zealand President of the Society 2018-2020
Björn Dahlbäck Sweden Treasurer 2015-2020
Jeffrey Weitz Canada President-Elect of the Society 2018-2020
Nigel Key USA Secretary General 2018-2020

Council Classes:
2020 2022 2024

Anna Falanga


Pantep Angchaisuksiri


Mary-Carmen Amigo


David Lillicrap


Michael Makris


Cécile Denis


José López


Flora Peyvandi


Jorge Di Paola


Suely Rezende


Sam Schulman


Wolfram Ruf


Steve Watson


Alisa Wolberg


Midori Shima


 Voting Members:
Name Country Position
Nicola Mutch UK Chairman
Scientific and Standardization Committee
Ingrid Pabinger Austria

Immediate Past President of the Society

ISTH Council

Name Country Position
Mary Cushman USA Editor-in-Chief
Research and Practice in Thrombosis and Haemostasis
Robert Medcalf Australia Congress Chair
XXVII ISTH Congress Melbourne, 2019
Johannes Oldenburg
Germany Congress Chair
XXVI ISTH Congress Berlin, 2017
Pieter Reitsma the Netherlands Editor-in-Chief
Journal of Thrombosis and Haemostasis
Frits Rosendaal the Netherlands Editor-in-Chief
Journal of Thrombosis and Haemostasis

Membership Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal