This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.
Join Mailing List   |   Jobs   |   Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join
Share |
Untitled Document




Marion I. Barnhart Memorial Lecture

Marion Barnhart’s many contributions to the field of hematology include a demonstration of the role that neutrophils and eosinophils play in fibrin dissolution; a description of cellular sites for the synthesis of prothrombin, fibrinogen and other blood coagulation proteins; scanning electron microscopy of the events that take place during platelet activation and platelet-vessel wall interactions; a description of circulatory pathways in the spleen; and a human umbilical vein model for studying platelet-vessel wall interactions.


2017 Steve Watson

2014 Frank W. Leebeek
2012 Garret FitzGerald
2009 Shaun Jackson
2007 John Hartwig
2005 Denisa Wagner
2003 Peter Carmeliet
2001 Edward Plow
1999 D. Collen
1997 V. Fuster
1995 Peter Carmeliet
1993 Robert Rosenberg
1991 Kai Simons
1989 Marjorie Zucker
1987 J. Evan Sadler


Kenneth M. Brinkhous Memorial Lecture

Kenneth M. Brinkhous was an original member of the International Committee for the Standardization of the Nomenclature of the Blood Clotting Factors (now known as the SSC Committee). Brinkhous’s peers elected him to the first ISTH Council, and he served as the Society’s Secretary General for 12 years.


2017 Marijke van den Berg
2014 Andrew Paterson
2012 Denisa Wagner
2011 Mark H. Ginsberg
2009 Evan Sadler
2007 Ian R. Peake

Pia Glas-Greenwalt Memorial Lecture

Pia Glas-Greenwalt’s contributions to the fields of thrombosis and hemostasis include the identification of increased plasma levels of what proved to be plasminogen activator inhibitor-1 in patients with systemic lupus erythematosus; the creation of a state-of-the-art Fibrinolysis/Special Coagulation Laboratory at TriHealth’s Good Samaritan Hospital; and a better understanding of the properties and therapeutic uses of the defibrinating enzyme Ancrod.


2014 Willem H. Ouwehand
2012 Kenneth Kaushansky
2009 Andreas Greinache
2007 John H. Griffin
2005 Douglas Vaughan
2003 J. Ironside
2001 George J. Broze
1999 David J. Loskutoff


Shirley Johnson Memorial Lecture

Shirley Johnson’s five books and 96 scientific publications continue to serve as monuments to investigators in the fields of thrombosis and hemostasis. Johnson studied everything from plasma coagulation factors to the interaction of platelets with fibrin clotting mechanisms and the vascular endothelium. Her careful, systematic research establishing the endothelial-supporting function of platelets can serve as a model for any investigator.


2014 Howard Jacob
2012 Claire McLintock
2009 Helen Hobbs
2007 Johannes Oldenburg
2005 David Phillips
2003 Bonno N. Bouma
2001 Robert D. Rosenberg
1999 Robert D. Rosenberg (Yale Nemerson, lecturer)
1997 Graham Jamieson
1995 Barry Coller
1993 Harold R. Roberts
1991 Edward F. Plow
1989 Theodore Zimmerman (Z.M. Ruggeri, lecturer)
1987 Ralph L. Nachman
1985 Inga Marie Nilsson
1983 Johan Stenflo
1981 Ernst Luscher
1979 John R. Vane
1977 Bengt Samuelsson
1975 G.V.R. Born
1973 J. Fraser Mustard
1972 Walter H. Seegers


Oscar D. Ratnoff Memorial Lecture

Oscar D. Ratnoff’s seminal contributions to the scientific community’s understanding of bleeding disorders and blood coagulation include a proposal for a waterfall sequence of blood coagulation; the discovery of factor XII (Hageman factor) and high molecular weight kininogen (Fitzgerald factor); the development of an immunoassay to differentiate factor VIII deficiency and von Willebrand disease; and early recognition of the potential danger of contaminating factor VIII concentrates with a putative AIDS agent.


2017 Wolfram Ruf
2013 Tilman Hackeng (as Ratnoff-MacFarlane Plenary Lecture)
2011 Kenji Kangawa
2009 Philip Hogg





Sol Sherry Memorial Lecture

Sol Sherry founded the ISTH in 1969 and led it for six years as its first chairman. His research on thrombosis and thrombolysis and its clinical applications has earned him the title, "father of thrombolytic therapy.” His achievements, particularly the introduction of streptokinase as a treatment for deep vein thrombosis, pulmonary embolism, acute myocardial infarction and other thrombotic disorders, have saved and improved many lives.


2017 Willem Ouwehand

2013 Denisa D Wagner (as Sherry-Koller Plenary Lecture)
2011 Kenneth Bauer
2009 William Geerts
2007 Jay Degen
2005 Harry Buller
2003 Frits Rosendaal
2001 Marie-Germaine Bousser
1999 Jurgen van de Loo and Salim Yusuf
1997 Jos Vermylen
1995 Victor Marder and MM Samama

1993 CT Esmon

Wright-Schulte Memorial Lecture

Irving Wright drove the creation of the International Committee on the Nomenclature of Blood Clotting Factors (now known as the SSC) and served as its chairman from 1954 to 1963. He tirelessly drew attention to the consequences and implications of thrombosis and the importance of research that focused on preventing, diagnosing and treating it. The ISTH was founded largely as a result of his motivating influence and organizational skills.

A successful merchant and philanthropist, Arthur Schulte was the first American patient to benefit from heparin therapy. Wright was his physician.


2011 James A. Huntington
2007 Richard O. Hynes
2005 David Ginsburg
2003 P. M. Mannucci
2001 Robin W. Carrell
1989 Yale Nemerson
1987 H. Coen Hemker
1985 Nubuo N. Aoki
1983 Bjarne Østerud
1981 Marc Verstraete
1979 Oscar Ratnoff
1977 V.V. Kakkar
1975 Helge Stormorken 

Désiré Collen provided the endowment for a lectureship through a contribution from the Collen Foundation (now Life Science Research Partners). Collen is the founding director of the Molecular Cardiovascular Medicine Group in Leuven, Belgium, and the Chief Executive Officer and Chairman of the Board of ThromboGenics Ltd. He and his team initially developed therapeutic tissue plasminogen activator (t-PA), a drug that revolutionized how patients with thrombotic disorders are treated.


2012 Markus Huber-Lang
2011 Kari Alitalo
2009 Rudolf Jaenisch
2007 Bruce Furie
2005 Ryozo Nagai
2003 Charles Esmon
2001 Judah Folkman


Membership Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal