This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.
Join Mailing List   |   Jobs   |   Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join
SSC Officers & Board
Share |
Untitled Document

Members of the Scientific and Standardization Committee (SSC) have elected the following individuals to the SSC Executive Committee, to lead them as they support the ISTH’s mission as it relates to practical matters of research standards, methods and nomenclature:





Nicola Mutch

United Kingdom

SSC Chair


Marc Carrier


SSC Vice-Chair


Joost Meijers

The Netherlands

SSC Vice-Chair Elect



In addition to the Executive Committee, the SSC Board also includes the Chair of each Standing Committee and Subcommittee. The individuals below are current members of the SSC Board:



Standing Committee

Coagulation Standards Standing Committee

Craig Thelwell

WHO-ISTH Standards Liaison Group

Joost Meijers


Pierre Mangin

Control of Anticoagulation

Adam Cuker

Disseminated Intravascular Coagulation

Toshiaki Iba

Factor VIII, Factor IX & Rare Coagulation Disorders

Johnny Mahlangu

Factor XI & the Contact System

Coen Maas

Factor XIII & Fibrinogen

Sanj Raut


Paul Kim

Genomics in Thrombosis and Hemostasis

Kathleen Freson

Hemostasis & Malignancy

Jeffrey Zwicker

Lupus Anticoagulant/Antiphospholipid Antibodies

Katrien Devreese

Models of Thrombosis and Hemostasis 

Laura Gutiérrez

Pediatric and Neonatal Hemostasis and Thrombosis

Neil Goldenberg

Perioperative and Critical Care Thrombosis and Hemostasis

Jerrold Levy

Plasma Coagulation Inhibitors

Jun Teruya

Platelet Immunology

Tamam Bakchoul

Platelet Physiology

Marie Lordkipanidzé

Predictive and Diagnostic Variables in Thrombotic Disease

John-Bjarne Hansen

Vascular Biology

Johannes Thaler

von Willebrand Factor

Ross Baker

Women's Health Issues in Thrombosis and Hemostasis

Maha Othman


If you are a member of the Society and would like to know how to participate in the work of the SSC, please submit an Expression of Interest Form to the subcommittee you would like to join. You may also contact the ISTH Headquarters at We would be pleased to learn of your interest.

Membership Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal